Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake.jpg

 I found this amazing marble & gold cake stand at Marshalls for dirt cheap.  The antler glass dome was a separate find also at Marshalls.  I loved them both instantly and imagined they’d make a cool set. They did!  Adam, didn’t love how much counter space my new finds took and claimed I could only leave it on the kitchen counter if ‘in use.’  Challenge accepted! I will bake every day! 🙂

My sister found these 6 inch cake tins on sale at Michaels’ for $4 each and bought them for me. Perfect! (Thanks Stacey!)

Cake Tins.jpg

Cake time!  Off to the grocery store for a bag of organic carrots & carrot cake here we go!

I made my own variation of the Smitten Kitchen Recipe as follows:

2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon table salt
4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups butter
4 large eggs
3 cups grated peeled carrots
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
1/2 cup gold & brown raisins

Oven 350°F, 40 minutes.

Including her Maple Cream Cheese Frosting.

1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 stick salted butter, room temperature
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup pure maple syrup

3 Cake.jpg

I was so worried my cake would topple over but it stayed in place. Whew!

FullSizeRender-6 copy

I decorated it with a few extra carrot cake shavings.

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

Now that’s a piece of cake!

One slice was plenty for two.

FullSizeRender-6.jpg

Good night cake. ❤

Leave a Reply

